A smooth sea never made a skillful sailor

Something’s come up. A potential part-time/freelance job opportunity. Doing work that I’m good at and that kiiind of makes sense in the greater picture of my career. More sense than being unemployed, certainly. It’s paid horribly with zero benefits, and so, financially speaking, it’s actually worse than being on welfare. On all other counts – from feeling like a productive member of society to minimizing the hole on my resume to getting back into a normal routine and out of the house – it’s of course better than welfare. So I’m anxious about negotiating details and hopefully have this work out and be a first step back in the right direction.

It’s just- This sounds like great news only because I can’t really get into the specifics of it (and let’s keep in mind that it’s not a done deal yet). It is better news than no job at all. But it’s not what was supposed to happen; what I so desperately wanted to have happen: to graduate, do an internship or two, and find a job with some security (freelancing is quite the opposite). Without months and months of worrying while hunting for full-time jobs, and eventually ending up on welfare because money had run out in the meantime. It’s not what my my parents expected of me and it’s not how things turned out for any of my friends.

Now that this opportunity has come up completely out of the blue – via email from a former employer, unsolicited by me – it is easier to see things a little more positive, though. I suppose when nothing is certain, everything is possible. And sometimes I have to remind myself that I don’t have to do what everybody else is doing. After all, a smooth sea never made a skillful sailor. (Then again, too rough a sea might just kill the sailor so I’m crossing my fingers that this, at least, does indeed turn out to be good news!)

(Image source: labelleviegirl)

3 thoughts on “A smooth sea never made a skillful sailor

  1. I came across your blog through wordpress.com. I went through some really similar situations last year after graduating. So many of my plans fell through! I hope this works out for you, but that it’s only a stepping stone to what you really want to do. I found blogging about this weird transition in life really helpful – I hope you do, too!

Leave a Reply

