You need to watch “Generation Kill”

I just re-watched the entire HBO mini series “Generation Kill” so I could write a decent review about it but then I got very caught up in the sheer awesomeness of the show and I forgot to write down some notes that could’ve helped me explain to you why, exactly, this show is so awesome. I’m sorry I failed you all. The upshot is this: You need to watch “Generation Kill”.

I come to this as a crazed Alex Skarsgård fan (he plays Sgt. Brad Colbert in the series) but I promise you my love for this show has almost nothing to do with that and everything to do with this: the excellent writing, and the realistic portrayal of the Iraq War from the perspective of soldiers on the ground, based on the eye-witness accounts of reporter Ewan Wright who was embedded for two months with the 1st Reconnaissance Battalion of the United States Marine Corps during the invasion of Iraq in 2003.

Prepare to fall in love with these men. Prepare to feel angry, and angrier and angrier, and prepare to weep for them, and all other young soldiers who were sent into Iraq without a hint of planning. Prepare to not ever want this series to end, and when it does, prepare to feel a strange loss.

A review of “Generation Kill” appeared in The New York Times in 2008. I don’t agree with some of the things said in it – it also reveals quite a bit of the plot – but if you’re interested, you should read it. Or go watch some clips on YouTube. And then watch the show. It’s really, really good.

(Image source: seriesaddict.fr)

Leave a Reply

