I finished “In My Father’s Country” by Saima Wahab tonight. Highly recommended, you guys.

It reminded me of how much I missed reading non-fiction. When I was working full-time it was easier to follow entertaining fiction, rather than serious accounts of things that interest me – war, conflict, journalism, media, military, politics. I can’t deal with that in tiny 3-page chunks after a long day at work. I need to be awake and eager to learn and understand.

I’m unemployed right now so I do have the time but not the money to buy original English hard-covers. I did splurge on two classics, though, that are completely different from what I just described: Kurt Vonnegut’s “Slaughterhouse-Five” and Joseph Heller’s “Catch-22”. Let’s see if I make it through these two. I shall give myself a pat on the back and hold a small celebration if I do.

Leave a Reply

