I used to watch the Eurovision Song Contest with my parents, and still do whenever I can. It’s somewhat of a tradition. My dad would always say things like, “This song has an excellent beat, don’t you think?” or “The lighting design in this arena is extraordinary, isn’t it!” My mom and I would always chime in with less qualified comments, such as “Did someone kick that dude in the privates right before he came on stage?” and “I really wish there was more 90s disco trash from Eastern Europe this year!” Unfailingly, my dad then proceeds to shake his head at us and pour himself another glass of wine, while my mom and I congratulate each other on being as classy and sophisticated as ever.

Ah, the Eurovision. Keeping families together since 1951. May it never go away.
Congrats to my beloved Sweden for taking the crown this year! ♥

Leave a Reply

