Running for beginners

Caught the exact 75 minutes of sunlight we had today. Went power walking and running. I’m doing the Couch to 5k podcasts (as recommended by Viv) and adding extra bits of fast paced walking before and after. There’s a gorgeous, gigantic recreation area just a 10-minute walk from my house. There’s runners, walkers, football players, dogs – and it’s a big open space, so you can always see others but you never feel crowded!

I’ve been talking to my room mate about running regularly, and our plan is to go at least every two days. It’s not so much about the running itself (every day would be too much for a beginner like myself, anyway) but the act of leaving the house and being on the move for an hour; running or not. I had to motivate myself every day when I lost 26 kilos in 2010/2011, and I just can’t anymore. So having someone else there who will push me to be active regularly is a blessing.

Leave a Reply

